How do I cancel my Gmail account?

If you decide that you don’t need your Gmail account anymore, and you’re sure you won’t want your username in the future, you can simply close the account. Here’s how:

  1. Click Settings at the top of any Gmail page.
  2. Open the Accounts tab.
  3. Click Google Account settings.
  4. Click Delete Gmail Service along the left side.
  5. Enter all information in the appropriate fields, and check the box next to Yes, I want to remove Gmail from my account.
  6. Click Remove Gmail.

Once you close your Gmail account, you can’t reactivate it, and you won’t be able to retrieve any messages. After a certain period of time, Gmail recycles your username, so we can’t guarantee that it will be available if you decide to open another Gmail account.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s